Brave New World

With the exception of a brief stint with Livejournal (remember those days?), I have never kept a blog before; never really had the need to.

On the other hand, I have Mushed for years. For those of you who don’t know, that’s essentially online text-based roleplaying – and yes, that form of hobby has a whole host of intrinsic problems, but I’m not here to talk about that. I caught up with the rest of the world last Christmas by purchasing a usable computer, and took my first tentative steps into the world of MMO – and me being such a visual person – there was just no going back. I dropped Mushing like a bad habit, and picked up a brand new one.

These days I spent most of my online time on Star Trek Online. Admittedly this is only the second MMO I have played, and for someone who might be considered a peripheral Trekkie, this game is addictive (I will probably explain why that is compared to the first MMO I tried, at a later date). In any event the thing I have found with MMOs is that grinding through stuff on my own gets very tedious and boring; it’s the social aspect that keeps me interested. Luckily, I have some friends who I play with regularly.

Anyway, so let’s tie this altogether now.

Back in my Mushing days, I loved creating new characters. Crafting their backstories, then playing them out in interactions with others. With MMOs, character creation is even more fun when you can customize their actual appearances, but what’s been lacking is the character development. I’ve also started to notice that I am missing a creative outlet, and I have been idly scribbling down things for my STO characters (toons, they’re called. That took a little getting used to). So why not start a Blog for STO and my toons on the game? It’d be a good opportunity to do a bit of creative writing again, right?

One thought on “Brave New World

Leave a Reply

