New Star Trek TV Series Coming in 2017

As a player of STO, this is definitely noteworthy. I’m intrigued by this, but I don’t really have any expectations (euphoria or dread) about the new Trek show. Why? Because looking back, it dawns on me that I actually haven’t watched a lot of Star Trek in my time. Out of the five TV series, I’ve probably seen 40% of the TNG episodes (mostly the last 3-4 seasons on reruns), maybe a quarter of DS9 (also on reruns), 10-15 or so episodes of TOS, and a random smattering of Voyager and Enterprise. In other words, I never had a real affinity with Star Trek TV shows, plus the fact that this thing being “US exclusive” and available on a paid channel other than HBO pretty much takes it out of my radar screen. Still, noteworthy!

Conversations with the Lootcritter

And I’m not sure how I feel about it.Alex Kurtzman will serve as executive producer for the new Star Trek TV series.”  As part of the brain-trust behind the recent reboot, I’m happy that his writing partner Orci is not involved in this ‘new series”.   No word yet what time-frame the series will exist in, or in what universe (JJ, Classic) the series will be made.

My personal preference was that this would have been a Netflix or HBO series, focusing on quality and a multi-episode story line.

The new television series is not related to the upcoming feature film Star Trek Beyond which is scheduled to be distributed by Paramount Pictures in summer 2016.

Clarification: ‘Not related’ to the upcoming movie does not say it won’t be in the same universe established in the recent reboot.

More as this story develops.  Hollywood Reporter.

The full…

View original post 745 more words

One thought on “New Star Trek TV Series Coming in 2017

  1. Interesting stuff indeed and I’m looking forward to finding out more about it.

    I’m not happy about it only being available for paid subscribers of CBS All Access, tho for all we know that could change by the time it’s released.

    Like

Leave a Reply

