Agents of Yesterday

AOY

I have been dealing with some really bad back/shoulder/arm pain in the past month, including physiotherapy and massage therapy. Because the pain gets a lot worse when I’m on the computer, I have scaled way back on my time on STO, hence the lack of posts on this blog. Unfortunately for the foreseeable future this is probably my new reality, so I’ll squeeze in whatever STO time I can when I am able to.

While I’ve been dealing with real-life pain, the big news on STO is the next expansion: Agents of Yesterday (actually, the big news is STO is coming to consoles, but since I don’t play console games that’s a non-event for me) — which takes players back to the TOS era. It’s essentially a Feddie-only expansion, in a sense similar to the Romulan expansion, although I am curious to see TOS era toons intermingling with current 25th Century ones. That’s like going to a modern military base with a bunch of soldiers in Civil War regalia!

Naturally, the new expansion is going to come with TOS aesthetics, a bunch of new ships inspired by TOS designs, and time-travel episodes and so on. I’m sure more information will be forthcoming as the release day draws near!

That said, I am personally not a TOS fan. Blasphemy, I know, but I have no emotional investment in the old series because it wasn’t a part of my childhood like it was for a lot of Trek fans. I am also a very visually-oriented person, and the 1960’s TOS aesthetic looks terribly dated which honestly doesn’t appeal to me at all. I’ll still play the new content, but probably treat it as a tongue-in-cheek “Austin Powers in Space” kinda deal!

 

7 thoughts on “Agents of Yesterday

  1. Being an old TOS veteran myself, frankly I have to say, it has aged kinda horribly and “Austin Powers is space” isn’t a bad take on it in some ways (especially in certain episodes). lol

    I mean, we’re talking about a 50-year-old series with a 50-year-old vision of the future here. Overall I think they did OK considering the very limited budget and all the technological limitations of the time.

    But yeah, looking at TOS now, I just can’t take it seriously as the 23rd century. As much as I didn’t like the new “JJ-Trek” movies, I do have to say I think they did a great job of updating the whole look and feel of Star Trek to make it look a lot more believable as taking place in the 23rd century. Perhaps a new TV series with a similar modernization is in order.

    And no worries about your “medical leave of absence,” as it were, Heidy. You just do what you need to do to take care of you. Your well-being is far more important than anything in this game. So please take it easy and get well soon. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks!

      But yeah, I’m not slamming TOS — it’s great for something made in the 60’s, but the aesthetics just don’t measure up to modern standards. As Trek goes TOS is the one that really looks out of place; even the old Trek movies look decent enough to past muster.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Agreed; TOS certainly looks its age, while the movies have held up somewhat better (as the movies were made a bit later and had a much bigger budget to work with).

        As for the ships, the Connie-refit from The Motion Picture has held up pretty well over the decades and wouldn’t look too outdated nowadays, while the TOS Connie… well, it still has that old-school mojo like an old ’60s muscle car. lol 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

