Star Trek Turns 50

ne9jughjxtuue9_2_b

Star Trek turns 50 this week! (Whether the actual date is today or on Thursday depends on which side of the 49th Parallel you live on….)

Fifty years ago this show blazed the trail for Science Fiction and Fantasy on the small screen, allowing the unconventional to enter mainstream consciousness. Of course, as I mentioned before, I am far more impressed with how it influenced future scientists and engineers, and fueled public interest in space exploration.

Not bad for a show running on a shoe-string budget!

P.S. I guess Cryptic is celebrating Star Trek’s 50th by kicking off the console version of Star Trek Online? Playstation and XBox, I think. I don’t own a gaming console and I don’t have any interest in them, so I haven’t been following this news… but this is a good thing, right?

I just hope this doesn’t mean the PC version of STO becomes an orphan if Cryptic decides to put more development resources on the console version.

5 thoughts on “Star Trek Turns 50

  1. I remember reading somewhere that Stephen Hawking once went to visit the set of Star Trek TNG back in the ’90s, and was shown a set piece of the warp core in engineering (I think it was the intermix chamber), and he just smiled and said, “I’m working on that.” And then of course there’s the PADD and communicators, etc…

    The influence that Star Trek has had over the past half-century can hardly be overstated, and that’s one of the main reasons why I’ve been a Trekker for over 40 years now (I was born a little too late (’73) to have seen TOS in the ’60s when it first aired, but I did watch TOS reruns as a little kid in the ’70s. I would run home from school and get my homework done as quickly as I could so I wouldn’t miss it. Good times. 🙂

    Like

    1. Wot? Hawking was working on a warp core? That is so cool. Even cooler if he ever succeeds, although with him being a physicist rather than an engineer, that probably means he’s just working on the principles of spacetime distortions to achieve theoretical FTL travel. But hey, we need to get the science down first before we can build something around it!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, it was back around ’93, I think. Other scientists have been working on the theory of it for some time now too, like Miguel Alcubierre and several others. I’ll probably never live to see it, but I’d love to see us at least get the general theories for FTL travel figured out in my lifetime.

        I’d also at like to see us find at least one confirmed Earth-like planet out there somewhere, hopefully not too far away, like in our nearest neighboring Alpha Centauri system; it would give us something to aim for. We’ll probably need much better telescopes and sensors for that, like the Hubble Space Telescope but much more advanced.

        Like

Leave a Reply

