Congilla’s new Jungle theme

the_jungle_book

I just saw the new 2016 Jungle Book on Netflix. Wow, that was a well-made movie! Have you seen it yet? If not, what are you waiting for? I strongly recommend it.

This movie is all kinds of awesome. The visuals are stunning, and the story adds a level of primal menace to the original Disney talking-animal lightheartedness. I certainly don’t remember the stark contrast of Mowgli’s human cleverness against the rest of the animal cast in the classic cartoon, but here it is very much the focus. The voicework is all-around brilliant: Ben Kingsley is suitably noble and straight-laced as Bagheera, Scarlett Johansson’s rasp is surprisingly seductive as the hypnotic Kaa,and Idris Elba’s powerful rumble is legitimately menacing as Shere Khan. Bill Murray as Baloo takes a little getting used to, but he brings a real sense of layabout slacking feel to the character.

But the real home run? Christopher Walken as King Louie. I mean Holy Shit, Batman, that is BRILLIANT. Instead of a goofy, snazzy, swinging Jazz-singing orangtuan as voiced by Louis Prima in the original, Walken’s Louie is a genuinely frightening gigantopithecus that rivals King Kong in stature and power. This is one giant ape you don’t want to piss off; I mean, I kinda half-expect King Louie to tell Mowgli that “In my jungle, you’d be just another asshole”!

37a1234df8e55750b96fed0c8fda9e4f13d2db10
Not to be crass, but if I were Mowgli, I’d be wetting my red diaper.

Oh but it gets better! Louie actually breaks into song, singing the classic and catchy “I just wanna be like you”, with some minor changes. Despite the upbeat tune, there is a dark, sinister undercurrent to it that, in my mind, was one of the high points of the film. Here, have a hear on Youtube.

You remember my KDF toon Congilla, right? Yeah, the Ape and his primate crew. This is so his new theme song now! Here he is again, complete with the lyrics to complete the picture.

screenshot_2015-10-10-00-24-53

  • Now I’m the king of the swingers
  • Oh, the jungle VIP
  • I’ve reached the top and had to stop
  • And that’s what botherin’ me
  • I wanna be a man, man-cub
  • And stroll right into town
  • And be just like the other men
  • I’m tired of monkeyin’ around!
  • Oh, oobee doo, I wanna be like you,
  • I wanna walk like you, talk like you, too
  • You’ll see it’s true, someone like me
  • Can learn to be someone like you!
  • Now don’t try to kid me, man-cub
  • I’ll make a deal with you
  • What I desire is man’s red fire
  • To make my dream come true.
  • Now, give me the secret, man-cub
  • Come on, clue me what to do.
  • Give me the power of man’s red flower
  • So I can be like you!
  •  Oh, oobee doo, I wanna be like you
  • I wanna walk like you, talk like you, too
  • You’ll see it’s true someone like me
  • Can learn to be someone like you!
  • Now you might think it’s ridiculous
  • That me, a gigantopithicus
  • Would ever dream I’d like to team
  • With the likes of you, man-cub
  • But together, we’d have powers
  • All the jungle’s treasures, ours!
  • I got desire, you got the fire
  • But the dream I dream takes two
  • So, ooh, I wanna be like you
  • I wanna use that flame just the same
  • You can do Oh, how magnificus
  • It would be A gigantopithicus like me
  • Could learn to do like you humans do
  • Can learn to be like someone like you
  • Can learn to be like someone like me

WOOOOOOOT!

7 thoughts on “Congilla’s new Jungle theme

  1. My favorite Walken scene ever is from The Rundown. It’s when he is giving the motivational speech and some poor bast*** is trying to translate it into Spanish so the troops can understand. The difference between what Walken says, and how, compared to what the mook translates is so telling. In the end Walken just tells the guy to shut up and motivates everyone purely with tone of voice.

    Like

Leave a Reply

