Enterprise-LOLwot Stats

As one of my readers helpfully noted, the STO stats of the Enterprise-J (as well as the Klingon-J and the Romulan-J) have been revealed. Other players on Reddit have already posted some good evaluations of the stats, but I thought what the hell, I have a blog so why not do my own breakdown, right?

Before we get into the stats, take a look at that image up top. Yeah, I kinda want to see the Enterprise-LOL in that scale in-game, just to satisfy my morbid curiosity. I would despise it, but… hell I already do! So why not?

First, the published stats:

Ship Details

  • Faction: Starfleet
  • Tier: 6
  • Availability: 26th Century Dreadnought R&D Promotion
  • Required Rank: Rear Admiral, Sub Admiral I or Brigadier General (Level 40)
  • Hull Strength: 46,500 at level 40, 53,475 at level 50 and 62,000 at level 60
  • Shield Modifier: 1.225
  • Fore Weapons: 4
  • Aft Weapons: 4
  • Device Slots: 3
  • Bridge Officer Stations: 1 Lieutenant Tactical, 1 Lieutenant Engineering, 1 Commander Engineering/Temporal Operative, 1 Lieutenant Science, 1 Lieutenant Commander Universal/Command
  • Console Modifications: 4 Tactical, 4 Engineering, 3 Science
  • Base Turn Rate: 5 degrees per second
  • Impulse Modifier: 0.13
  • Inertia: 20
  • +5 to All Power
  • Console – Universal – Energy Distributor Accelerator
  • Energy Distributor
  • Gravitic Lance
  • Can Load Dual Cannons
  • 2 Hangar Bays
  • Hangar Bays Loaded with Cestus Frigates
  • Starship Mastery Package (Heavy Dreadnought Cruiser)
    • Absorptive Plating (+Physical and Kinetic Damage Resistance Rating)
    • Quick Deployment (-Hangar Pet Recharge Time)
    • Armored Hull (+Max HP)
    • Rapid Repairs (+Hull Regeneration)
    • Repair Mode (Starship Trait)
  • Cruiser Command Array
    • Command – Strategic Maneuvering
    • Command – Weapon System Efficiency

All good? Okay! Here’s my rundown:

  • Hull/Shields — This is a gigantic ship, so it’s got super high hull points. Despite the size, its hull is really not as high as you would think. Then again, the ugly pancake is pretty much a flat-2D ship, so maybe its aluminum foil hull armor explains why it’s only marginally more durable than a ship one-eighth its size. Likewise, shields are good, not super. As far as in-game model goes, if this guy turns out to be HUGE and gets a ton of hit boxes… it’s gonna need those shields and hull. Evaluation: OK.
  • Console layout is okay, but nothing to get excited about in the current meta. It’s on par with most modern tactical cruisers so it’s a plus. Evaluation: OK.
  • BOFF layout, on the other hand, is suboptimal. Filling the LtC. Universal seat with a Tactical Officer is almost a given — you’re otherwise stuck with a single Lt. Tac seat which should satisfy exactly nobody — which incidentally means you’re then stuck with a Lt. Sci seat. The Cmdr Eng seat at least has the option for Temporal skills, but in my experience Temporal skills tend to be less critical than the base Tac and Sci skills. Also… hold that thought for now. Evaluation: CON.
  • Weapon loadout – 4/4 is typical of the standard cruiser, no surprises there. But then it tags on everything else: two hangar bays, a lance weapon, and can load dual cannons. Is this a dreadnought? A cruiser? Or a carrier? It’s as if it can’t make up its mind. As for the lance weapon and dual cannons options, surely they add this ship’s damage potential, right? Well hold on, park that thought too. Evaluation: OK.
  • 2x Hangar Bays – Boasting two hangar bays, this gangly elephant effectively renders every 2-bay carrier in existence obsolete — it has more firepower than any carrier in-game! Frankly, I never liked the idea of a ship that is better than another ship in every way — you just confined a whole class of ships to the museum, Cryptic! Stop doing that!  Evaluation: MEH.
  • Molecular Reconstruction – Proving that this ship is EVERYTHING-IN-ONE, it also has the temporal vessels’ Molecular Reconstruction ability. It’s a good thing it has this ability though. Why? Hold on to that thought. Evaluation: PRO.
  • Turn Rate/Impulse/Inertia – Finally! This is where I’m going to try  to tie the whole thing together. With a Turn Rate of 5, Impulse of 0.13 and Inertia of 20, the Enterprise-J is the slowest, clumsiest, worst-turning T6 ship in the history of STO. While it is appropriate for such a lumbering eyesore, this also ensures the lance weapon (assuming the traditional sort that fires forward), dual cannons and torpedoes are going to be useless. Evaluation: CON.
    • So why did the Molecular Reconstruction ability score a Pro instead of a Meh? Because if you run it in Offensive Mode, you can now get this ugly tub into some semblance of “normal” cruiser-level turn rate and flight speed.
  • The Console is the Energy Distributor Accelerator console. It boosts power levels, boosting maximum power levels slightly and also greatly boosting the energy transfer rate of yourself and up to 5 nearby allies. Additionally, will reduce the recharge time of the Gravitic Lance. This console also passively proves a boost to Directed Energy Damage and Turn Rate.
    • How useful are all these? Given that we’ve established the Lance is probably marginally useful, and any % increase in Turn Rate is going to be negligible when the base is only 5… I would argue you would be better served with any number of other consoles in existence. Evaluation: CON.
  • Ship Trait: Repair Mode — When you suffer more than 10% of your hit points in a 3 second period, you will gain 1 Repair Mode Counter. Upon receiving your 3rd Repair Mode Counter, you will immediately become disabled, gain a very high increase to damage resistance, and a large amount of temporary hit points. You’ll also gain a powerful heal over time effect for the duration of Repair Mode.
    • This reads like a Turtling trait. If you take 30% hull damage in a 9 second period, you get three Counters and you’re disabled whether you want to or not. No weapons, no movement, just high damage resistance, temporary hull and sit tight. The trait doesn’t state how long the Disable effect is, but still… this thing’s got the highest hull in-game, shouldn’t it continue to fight at 70% hull instead of turtling in a shell? I would never use this trait myself. Evaluation: CON.
  • Energy Distributor (Inherent Ability – Passive) passively grants a small power level bonus to the Temporal Heavy Dreadnought and up to 4 allies within 5km. Additionally, for each ally affected (including yourself) you will generate 1 Cycled Energy Charge, once every few seconds. These charges are used to empower the Gravitic Lance.
    • So on top of everything else, this guy has an additional bonus ability. It’s kinda unfair, really, but extra is extra. It’s a point in its favor. Evaluation: PRO.

Lots of CONs and a couple of PROs! And that doesn’t even include the CONs of being expensive, ugly, taking up way too much space, and ruining the game universe. Sure, I may be judging this ship a bit harshly, but as I said in my last post, I don’t like it and I don’t like the implications of its inclusion as a playable ship. The one PRO I’m saving for last, is that if you can’t afford this ugly mess when it comes out, you won’t be missing much! XD

5 thoughts on “Enterprise-LOLwot Stats

  1. I hate it when a ship is made into a carrier. Putting the launch bay or bays on any ships takes away from the option of being //so much cooler//. I’d rather have an extra gun slot fore or aft or another console slot or a boff slot of one rank higher. Anything like that for me is one of my main criteria when I get any new ship.

    People say “don’t slot a fighter”. What the hell that is not even the point of the conversation. Putting the damn hanger in counts as a main selling point for the ship to ‘the masses’. I hope everyone understands that.

    Like

  2. Thank you for breaking it down for us like this, Heidy. I’ve got a much better idea of what I’m looking at now (besides a huge, ugly monstrosity of a ship that it is, lol).

    I’ll stick with my Kelvin Connie. And if I want to use a carrier, I’ve already got my Vengeance and its vicious little assault drones.

    If by some fluke I were to score one of those temporal dreadnoughts, I think I’d sell it on the exchange and buy a D4X for my KDF alt, and probably have plenty of change left over to buy gear for it.

    Like

    1. Hehe, that’s… ambitious! If this is more than a theory build, do let me know how it performs in actual play.

      As an observation though, I see you’re stacking on a bunch of stuff (i.e. DOFFs, AMACO engine, EPtE, etc.) to improve this thing’s mobility. So I think theoretically it can be done, but you are sacrificing a lot of space to compensate for a major inherent weakness. Without number-crunching, how much turn rate/impulse/inertia will this give you? And between power activations, how much “down time” do you figure this tub will have when it’s turning like a Space-SUV?

      Like

  3. To be honest, I have no idea what the maneuverability will be XD

    I was aiming for a turn rate of somewhere between 30 and 40 deg/s, but perhaps that was too ambitious. It’ll probably only achieve high 20’s or low 30’s. Inertia (or traction as the game engine refers to it) will probably be the default 20. I could add a polaric modulator, but 25 is not much better than 20, so it will be drifting all over the place. Same goes for impulse.

    As for the cooldowns, I was aiming for global cooldowns for most if not all the abilities thanks to strategist’s AW2 and AHOD.

    Unfortunately I won’t be able to test it personally, since I’m space poor and don’t have the space rich 1%er traits I used in the build. This was mostly an exercise in seeing if it was possible to compensate for the seating and turn rate.

    I based most of the build off of a Torpedo Tal Shiar Adapted Battlecruiser I’m currently building and that has a base turn of 6 compared to the Universe’s 5. So far I can get a turn of high 30’s if all buffs are active (barring evasive maneuvers which gets me into the 50’s or so).

    Like

Leave a Reply

