Summer Event 2017

We are back to Risa for 2017 for some fun in the sun!

This year’s Summer Event started last Thursday, so there is still plenty of time to take part (and yes, grind for the free ship). As Events go the Summer one is my favorite — the floater “grind” for the ship is simple and painless, and better yet you only need to do it on one toon for an account-wide unlock. All the other activities on Risa are entirely optional — you can spend a lot of time grinding for Lohlunat Favors (I call them LOLnuts; it’s easier to remember) to buy swimwear, floaters, power boards, pets and some Risan kit modules, or Bird Eggs (for bird pets) and Monkey Tags (for monkey pets). But if you don’t care for any of that? Don’t grind at all! Just enjoy the sun and beach and one of the best rendered ground map on STO. It’s one of the few opportunities to see a lot of player characters in one place, and every year I end up making several new friends on Risa.

05c0a0251993f0fd2ff708a3a019f06a1495836105They added a new activity this year: the Biathlon which combines power-boarding and a floater race…. and personally I think it’s a stinker. Not only is it easy to get disqualified, especially when you transition from the power-board to the floater — there is a very narrow zone you can do it in, otherwise you risk disqualification — but there doesn’t seem to be a very clear signal that you might have missed a checkpoint along the way. The worst part is, like the Winter Event race, some people have already found an exploit and somehow parking themselves at the finish line to win every race.

Meh, I don’t need the gold/silver/bronze floaters, which only become available if you win 1st, 2nd and 3rd place respectively. The stats are identical to the other superior floaters, so are a bit redundant. Nope, I am not doing this activity any more.

I wouldn’t care so much if the introduction of the Biathlon didn’t screw up the event schedule. As it stands now, the Biathlon, the power-board race and the Artifact searching occur much more frequently than the Dance-Off and the Horga’hn Hunt — and the Horga’hn Hunt is the most efficient way of farming LOLnuts. On the other hand, less Hunts mean more time spent relaxing and goofing off, so it’s a trade-off I’m willing to live with.

As far as Risa itself is concerned, unfortunately Cryptic has already said that they won’t be able to fix the night cycle due to Lighting 2.0. And having spent a few days on Risa, I can say for sure that I miss the Risan nights. It’s missing a very unique and vacation-y ambience, one that almost makes Risa a completely different experience than daytime. Frankly, I don’t think Lighting 2.0 did much to improve players’ experience on Risa; losing the night cycle is really not a good trade-off.

6f5df692de6076812f665eaab78d1a441495836207

Having obtained gear for most of my vacationing toons in previous Summer Events, I didn’t really need a whole lot this time around. The new Rash Guard swimwear looks awesome though, so Heidy and T’Leia each got a different one! Unfortunately it only works with the shorts costumes, because for some reason it clips badly with bikini bottoms. I faked it on my girls by making the bikini bottom’s color match the Rash Guard, but that’s about all I can do until Cryptic fixes it.

screenshot_2017-06-12-19-41-49
Heidy in her new Rash Guard

This year, in addition to my normal vacationing toons Heidy, T’Leia and Kala, my newer, second-tier toon Lahae has joined them on Risa. Lahae is a Fed-aligned Romulan, whom I have taken some effort to make her look as Korean/East-Asian as I could (limited by character customization options); as such, I call her a “Koromulan” — what do you think? Does she look sufficiently Asian? This is a homage to my own ethnicity! As toons go Lahae isn’t very well-developed, so I’m spending a bit of time on Risa with her right now so that she can do a bit of catch-up between vacation activities.

screenshot_2017-06-12-19-27-16
Lahae the Koromulan

As I have repeatedly said, I love the Summer Event because it offers a nice change of pace away from the usual STO grind. This year I already made two new friends just hanging out on Risa, which is a great thing to happen! So if you haven’t done so, pack your swimwear and sun-tan lotion, and head for the greatest vacation spot in the galaxy!

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Summer Event 2017

  1. I’ve been hearing nothing but complaints from people about the biathlon, that they keep getting disqualified for no apparent reason. It might be glitched, which wouldn’t surprise me. So I decided to leave it alone. Hopefully Cryptic will patch it and fix it.

    As for your toons’ outfits… looking good, as always! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And yes, other than the Romulan forehead, I think Lahae looks quite sufficiently Asian (and stunningly beautiful, just like Heidy). 🙂

    I once thought about making a toon based on my own ethnicity too, but then I ran into a problem: I’m a mix of so many different things that I really have no idea what my ethnicity is. lol My family never cared to keep any genealogical records or anything like that. So I figured I’ll just be “human” and call it a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh good! I wasn’t sure what else I might need to tweak to improve the Asian look.

      I have developed a bit of a fetish trying to recreate various ethnic groups on my STO toons. So right now Heidy is the typical blonde Caucasian, Admiral Brown is African, Lahae is Asian… and I have Boffs of various ethnicity including two Latinos/one Latina, and one Desi/Indian woman. Kala Kendris is very Nordic/Northern European, but I’m toying with the idea of giving her a middle-eastern look for kicks, maybe Israeli or Arabic.

      And I hear you. The U.S. is such a melting pot that some of the most distinguishable ethnic features kinda disappear. It’s by no means a bad thing, but it does make space-barbieing less fun!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yep, I happen to come from a multi-ethnic family, mostly Caucasian but my own slightly swarthy “olive” skin suggests that there was something else vaguely Eastern added somewhere along the line, most likely from my grandmother (my dad’s mom), so we can’t really identify with any one single ethnic or cultural identity. So we just consider ourselves “Americans” and that’s it.

        As for the melting pot and distinct ethnic features disappearing, I’d say yes and no. People tend to like to stay among people whom they can identify with, for cultural, religious, and linguistic reasons, so they tend to form little ethnic enclaves (and some big ones, like Koreatown, aka “K-Town,” which is just enormous now and practically a city unto itself). Just here in my local L.A. area we’ve got like a hundred different languages spoken in addition to the main two, English and Spanish. My little local library has three main sections now for the three main languages most commonly spoken in my neighborhood, English, Spanish, and Mandarin, which was added about a decade ago.

        So the reality is much more nuanced and complex than the whole “melting pot” analogy would suggest as some areas are much more diverse than others.

        Me, I enjoy the diversity and variety and I think I’d get pretty bored in an area where everyone were of the same ethnicity and language.

        Like

      2. Coming from a minority group, I can say with some confidence that certain ethnicities are more resistant to “melting” into the general population than others. This is most definitely a cultural thing, especially prevalent with Asian cultures like Chinese, Japanese, Korean, and Indian, and particularly true with the new first generation immigrants. There is immense familial pressure to only marry your “own people” (believe me when I say there is still significant historical antipathy between the Chinese/Korean and Japanese, despite the fact that they are practically the same “race”).

        Canada is touted as a multi-cultural country, much moreso than the U.S., and it shows. Maintaining one’s culture is encouraged in Canada, and we have a TON of ethnic enclaves as a result. Sometimes I think it’s done to the detriment of mainstream society — a few years ago there were complaints against Walmart putting out “Merry Christmas” signs because some idiots felt offended that they were “forced to celebrate a Christian holiday” and “Christmas wasn’t multi-cultural”. I mean, really? I thought multiculturalism is all about tolerance. The worst part was Walmart relented and replaced their signs with a generic “Season’s Greetings”.

        Bah, I say.

        But I digress. The melting pot analogy still works for the U.S., because it has been happening for over 200 years. I think right now with the new wave of immigrants and the relative ease of staying in touch with their native cultures, the trend is reversing. In coastal cities like LA where you would expect to see a lot of immigrants, I have no doubt you’d see a lot of these ethnic enclaves rising again.

        Liked by 2 people

      3. Come visit Hawaii. Officially 25% of the population is mixed race here. Unofficially, its way higher, just not everyone fills out the census forms honestly. For example, among my co-workers, out of 28 there are only 4 non-mixed race (one German, one Japanese, and two Filipino).

        Top components in mixed race people are Filipino, Japanese, Korean, Portugese, Puerto Rican, and various Polynesian. Being an Italian-Scottish-Magyar-Gypsy mix myself, I love it here.

        Yes the tourists look at some couples funny, and yes some of the first generation immigrants try to pressure their kids into marrying their own race. But then they end up learning the person they thought was the same race is actually mixed blood anyway. Heh. Did I mention I love it here?

        Liked by 2 people

      4. I would love to head back to Hawaii for a bit. Absolutely love it there! But for real there are a lot of visible minorities there, many of whose ethnicities are quite difficult to identify. I enjoy that though; you kinda get the sense that everyone is more accepting and I for one felt less conscious about my own ethnicity when I am in Hawaii.

        Liked by 2 people

  3. (in response to your response)

    Having been to Japan and South Korea, I’m aware of the historical animosity between them, and also the Chinese. They don’t exactly get along, unfortunately. So I get it. I just wish everyone would work things out, forgive where needed, and move on, but I guess it’ll take some time. 😦

    Technically I’m a minority too; Caucasian or “white” people have been a minority here in California since about 2000 (as of the 2000 census), as the majority of the population, about 60% last I checked, is Hispanic of various ethnicities (mostly Mexican but including many of Central and South American origin as well).

    California is pretty unique and it largely depends on what part of the US you’re in, with some areas being much more ethnically diverse than others.

    But yeah, I hear you. The whole generic “Season’s Greetings” thing was blown way out of proportion. People just need to chill out and realize that people aren’t saying “Merry Christmas” just to offend them or exclude them.

    I mean, I’m not a Jew, but if someone said “Happy Hanukkah” to me, I wouldn’t mind. I’d just say, “Thank you! You too!” and that’d be it. Wal-Mart just changed their signs to “Season’s Greetings” to avoid being sued by easily-offended people, and that’s why lots of other businesses around here now just say that or “Happy Holidays” as you can’t really go wrong with it. To some extent it’s understandable, but I just think collectively we need to grow a thicker skin and not flip out about such things.

    And you made an interesting point; I’ve been seeing it firsthand around here and I totally agree that the cultural/linguistic situation with the Asian ethnic groups is a lot of the reason why most haven’t really “integrated;” they often live in their own little bubbles as the language/culture barrier is still very real for many of them, especially those who have arrived more recently.

    Subsequent waves of Asian immigrants over the past few decades have added to those communities as well, like K-Town in L.A., Thai Town a little east of Hollywood (technically still part of L.A.), and Little Saigon (a very large Vietnamese community) down in Orange County.

    The Japanese community here, interestingly, is unique in that they’ve retained their cultural identity and yet they’re very decentralized and never really formed any sizable ethnic enclaves the way other Asian ethnic groups did; I’m not sure why that is. They’ve got Little Tokyo in downtown L.A., but that’s pretty tiny (just a bunch of stores and restaurants, really). But other than that, there isn’t really any central “Japantown” and they’re generally spread out all over. Just something I’ve noticed.

    The Chinese community has been getting similarly more spread out here lately too; there’s a central Chinatown in downtown L.A. but it’s tiny too (bigger than Little Tokyo but not by much), nothing like the huge Chinatown in San Francisco. I’m thinking it might be down to the increasing number of Chinese businesses that have opened up here recently.

    But K-Town is something else. It has its own high-rise buildings and it’s just enormous, taking up a vast chunk of L.A., I’d say at least 10% of it. It’s also quite expensive, like a new Gangnam (a rich part of Seoul) nowadays. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Whoops, little correction needed here: in the interest of accuracy I checked Wikipedia and found that the Hispanic population actually is more like around 40% (“Hispanic” being a cultural and linguistic identifier rather than an ethnic one). Non-Hispanic “white” people are still the minority at about 40% of the population, but it’s actually that the entire “minority” (i.e. non-white) population is around 60%, not just the Hispanic part of it. California is… complicated. lol

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I can maybe offer a little more insight into that.

      Chinese, Japanese and Korean have some very different cultural dynamics that may explain what you see in California. The Japanese situation is probably easiest to explain: as a group, they are not nearly as numerous as the Chinese or Korean or Vietnamese immigrant populations. Risking some generalization here, the Japanese as a people are pretty “loyal” to their home country and emigration to foreign soil is not very popular compared to most other cultures, Asian or otherwise. Their relatively small numbers is probably the biggest reason why Japanese ethnic neighborhoods are never prominent.

      In contrast, Korean and Chinese and Vietnamese (and others like Filipino) have traditionally seen a lot of emigrants due to a variety of reasons, and their larger numbers often result in major ethnic enclaves. The big difference between Korean and other Asian immigrant populations is that the Korean wave really just took off in the last 10 to 15 years (because of the money they’re making), versus Chinese immigrants which had been arriving in several waves since over a hundred years ago. That means most Korean immigrants have shared modern values so they would naturally congregate; Vietnamese are similar except the bulk of them arrived between the 1970’s and 1980’s following the end of the Vietnamese War, which is interesting in that they’ve been there long enough to have to deal with the cultural clash of a Second Generation of Vietnamese-American… something the Koreans don’t have to face yet.

      With the Chinese immigrants you have several major waves: the 19th Century workers, the 1950’s refugee wave fleeing the Communist takeover, the 1980’s/1990’s Hong Kong immigrants (also fleeing the impending Communist handover), the 2000’s Taiwanese wave during the political uncertainties with Communist China, and today the mainland Chinese who are now the rich ones — none of these major waves of Chinese immigrants share many common values and in some cases, actively dislike each other so they tend to congregate in separate communities. I think this is one of the main drivers why you see a pattern of “spread out” Chinese communities than a central one like K-Town. This might seem strange at first glance but if you consider the fact that most of the previous waves of Chinese immigrants were fleeing the mainland Communists and the latest arrivals ARE mainland Communists? Yeah, there are some strong reasons why they don’t get along.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That actually makes a lot of sense about the local Chinese community here given the historical context; thank you for that. 🙂

        Like

  4. I have found that the best way to do the biathalon is with a rental floater and powerboard. The cheapo green ones (50 lolnuts) work ok too. You rarely get disqualified because you’re just put-put-putting along. The funny thing is I’ve placed first several times when all the speed demons go out of bounds.

    I have seen a few of the cheaters, but not as many as with the winter event.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hm… interesting. Game glitches aside, I’m thinking people are getting DQ’d because they just don’t know how to work the throttle on the purple quality floaters; they keep overshooting it and veering off course because they keep gunning the throttle the whole time, and in some areas that just doesn’t work. I’ve also been seeing a lot of complaints about instant DQs when switching from the board to the floater, tho I’ve yet to experience that myself.

      But that approach with the rental or the cheaper, slower green quality floater actually makes sense and I might give that a try. Only thing is, lately I’m so fed up and burnt out on Risa and STO in general that I just couldn’t be bothered to do it again.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Burn out definitely needs to be respected. If you’re not up to it, then don’t bother. There’s always next year. I’m in grad school and working so I don’t always have the energy to do much beyond my flying high daily and call it a night. If I found it frustrating and unfun… I’d definitely give it a pass.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

